East meets West

East meets West in this little bowl of soup I had last week.  Take a guess.

dsc00403

The croutons gave the creamy soup a bit of a crunch.

dsc004041

Here’s what it actually was…

dsc004051

Clever, huh? Who’d have thought the Striped One could be made into a creamy soup such like so and be served in a high-end restaurant like this. Bravo RBC for the effort in bringing to the fore local foods!

10/10 for creativity  from me, although, less marks for execution or the finished product- though I can see how it might work.

I still prefer Kembayau the way mom used to prepare ’em- striped, steamed/blanched, salted. And the world is a happier place for it…

kembayau1

Here’s a tip when buying Kembayau: look at the color of the tip; the yellower it is, the more creamy the flesh.

6 responses

  1. hmmmmm.

    apa kan rasa kembayau ani ah? the creamy texture freaks me out a bit. mcm tembelus. and avocado. and i find it amusing ada urg makan kembayau pakai gula instead of garam. apa tah lagi rasanya tu?

    dulu2 my nini fed us the insides of biji kembayau. macam pistachio. hoho. semua jua kan dimakan.

  2. Kembayau’s creamy and tastes a bit like avocado. Temelus or Pangalaban has a more intense flavour. Entah ah. I gave up splitting Kembayau seeds coz they’re too small. I prefer biji Buah Li (?), much bigger and more isi, like walnut in fact.

    But Kembayau with sugar has never made sense to me, always with salt for me, thanks. But what do i know?? I just had a salad consisting of apple, jaruk mangga and jaruk petai and cili padi… at 3am… as if that makes any more sense than kembayau with sugar…

  3. makes sense if it’s a green apple. hehe.

    yea they’re too small. Yatah dulu2 my mulah nini atu was soooo heroic in our eyes pasal ia stedi splitting the seeds supaya kami dapat kurik isinya. biji nangka dapat makan jua kan? macam chestnuts rasanya? haha kenapakan semua seeds macam rasa kacang? (inc the one you mentioned. nama standardnya kah tu cz i googled it and didnt find anything)

  4. The apparently Muara-style kembayau is first blanched and then stir-fried with a bit of oil, sliced shallots and garlic, and seasoned with salt and sugar. It is very tasty and sweet kembayau makes much sense, at least to me and the people in Muara where it probably originated from hehe. Oh yes aku masih tatak biji kembayau. Because buah meritus is so hard to find. sigh. ^_^

  5. It never made sense to me to have sweet kembayau,but the way you just described it made it sound really nyaman. I’ll try it nanti. On a different note, biji buah meritus is what always comes to my mind every time I hear names like Professor Emeritus Asmah Omar being mentioned. just great- people work their academic asses off and I imagine them to be biji buah!! But tasty biji buah, if that’s any compensation.

Leave a Reply

