Vegan Black Cherry Mocha Cake

Recently, a dear friend of us visited from Malaysia.  Nesam’s a strict vegan, so the guys at the office tasked me with bringing some food in for a little tea party-  vegan style.  I only agreed to take up the challenge because I’d never made strict vegan food~ but also in part, Nesam rather sweetly made a beautiful fish head curry for us some time ago although she’s vegan.  So I wanted to repay her, sort of.

Found this recipe at //vegetarian.about.com/.    It was supposed to be raspberry, but at 1.30 am- I coudn’t quite go out to our little raspberry patch outside and pick some, could I?  Pohon asam jawa ada!  In a state of panic (because I’d forgotten about the party the next morning!), I rummaged through the larder and found a can of black cherry filling. Thank God for that!  It really was very last minute.

Here’s how it turned out…

dsc04378

For all the worry, the cake turned out to quite tasty.

dsc04379

The cake was in fact suprisingly easy to make. Now I don’t normally give out recipes (not coz i don’t like sharing, rather, it’s just not my thang..), but I’ll make an exception to this one coz I was impressed that despite not having any butter or eggs in it, the cake was moist and, if I may say so myself, delicious:

3 cups self-raising flour

1 1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup cocoa

1/4 cup oil

1 1/2 tsp vanilla

2 tbspn vinegar

1/4 cup of water

3/4 cup strong coffee

3/4 cup black cherry preserves

Just mix everything until creamy batter is formed . Preheat oven at 250 degrees and cook for 25 minutes. Easy peasy!

(I actually baked another Vegan dish, the apple and spice cake ~ which appeared as anaemic as my pasty legs~  even our durian-loving cat wouldn’t go near it.  SNOB!)

Anyway, give it a go!

2 responses

Leave a Reply

