Buah Kundang

I’ve been quiet, I know. Been having a spot of bother called “work”, saps the life out of ya!

But my gastronomic curiosity (and indulgence) shall prevail… marking exams or no marking!! So I’m back with this post on another fruit certainly worthy of a mention.

On one of my travels abroad, Manila this time, a couple of us got talking about this fruit called Buah Kundang. Colleagues from Thailand, Vietnam, Malaysia and Cambodia vividly described the sour young Kundang fruit, and the amazingly sweet and delicious ripe one. Not one to be outdone usually, I felt rather left out this time because I really didn’t know what they were talking about. But I was intrigued. I have never come across it here in Brunei, but I’m almost certain it’s lurking somewhere in someone’s kabun buah. (Incredible too coz nothing edible has ever escaped me!)

So I present to you the very purple Buah Kundang…

Unripe Buah Kundang up close and personal

Unripe Buah Kundang up close and personal

Membari taisliur-looking sambal Kundang...

Membari taisliur-looking sambal Kundang...

Drool-inducing ripe Kundang.

Drool-inducing ripe Kundang.

It’s a beauty ahh! Well, my uncle is en route to KL as I blog, and in no uncertain terms I asked him to get me Buah Kundang. So I’m really looking forward to that first meeting of the beauty and the parut buncit… it’s a predictable ending.

Until that momentous occasion, it’s back to marking my exam scripts… or maybe football on TV.

(and Man U just won the derby ~ Woohoo!)

(Photos courtesy of http://hanieliza.fotopages.com – I asked for permission )

7 responses

  1. welcome back! your gastronomic adventures have been sorely missed.

    i’ve always thought kundang is just another word for purple. yatah origin nya ni rupanya

  2. Fiz. You’re actually right there, “kundang” is the Malay reference to the colour purple, even in Classic Malay (warna kundang). It’s a reference to the seed colour for obvious reasons. YAWNSVILLE! But I didn’t know that either till I saw the pics. Ia tah menunggu my Angkal Rosli balik from KL ni.

    Mau. I have a linguistic-phonological explanation for that, but I’ll spare you the trauma.

  3. Jeruk buah kundang is my favorite. Still is but very hard to get hold of it now. If anyone has any lobang where I could get a sapling, I would love to plant them. I grow a binjai fruit in my Pes area here in Singapore. Hoping to re-introduce it in one of the forest reserve. These “ancient” plants (binjai and kundang) have now disappeared from Singapore and we have to travel to faraway Thailand to get them.

  4. Hi Jailani. Sorry I missed your comment. I’ve yet to try the Kundang fruit. Nampak sedap jer.. It would appear that your best bet to find the sapling would be from Sem Malaysia. Binjai we have in Brunei, but I’ve not seen the tree in person for many years now – just the fruit at the market.

    • Trima kasih kerna sudi balas. We use to pluck buah Kundang at the Singapore Police Academy here at Thompson Road. But with high property prices hence major development many local fruit went by the dinosaur way. Really sad. Even my request to transfer my Binjai Plant to the Forest reserve came unanswered. I managed to grow a small sapling from seed of the yellow Thai variety but it remains small and thin. hopefully it grew large enough so that I could transfer to more permanent location. Keep the discussion going maybe our Thai friends have a sapling or two to sell. that will be the day.

  5. Hi friends, keep the conversation going, the other day my wife and I were talking about buah Tarap. She used to eat it when she was young but the closest I could imagine to a local fruit is buah durun. About the size of a a large grapefruit with hard outer casing and webbings at the inside. The seeds were coated with a thick flesh just like cempedak but smaller and it has a very unique taste and very nice to eat. I only know one such tree in the forest near my village somewhere between whitley and Malcolm Road (Singapore) Very tall tree, no way you could climb so the best way to collect the fruit is to wait in the early morning or search when the sun is up. When all the villages in Singapore have been pulled down and people relocated to HDB new townships to cater to the growing population, I’m not sure if the tree is still there. And Coming back to buah Tarap, she told me its unique in Brunei and part of Borneo but untill now none are exported to Singapore or Peninsula Malaysia. Looks like I have to travel to Brunei to try this fruit. Anybody has tried durian hutan that came with red-coloured flesh? also a native of the jungles of Borneo.

Leave a Reply

