Adau Gayo

A very belated post on the Dusun day of celebration, Adau Gayo (in Dusun language, literally, Big Day), 1st of May. It’s not a public holiday in Brunei, but that doesn’t stop the party.

My dad is Dusun, so we celebrate Adau Gayo with cousins and our extended family. It’s usually done much in the same way the Malay Muslim Hari Raya Aidilfitri is celebrated, family and friends visit each other, but on a much less “pretentious” or “show-offy” kinda way. And because it’s not a holiday, and more often than not, the celebrations are done by holding ‘Openhouses’.

I’d have written about Adau Gayo much sooner had it not been for my fat stubby fingers that rather clumsily clicked on a button that permanently deleted all my photos. I’d taken a lot of nice pictures of the food at my uncle’s openhouse then; but for this post I’ll have to make do with blurry pics of a later openhouse (which I didn’t attend, but my camera did). Unfortunately, my niece who took the photos got the setting all wrong.

Nonetheless, the Dusun in me will not be deterred from sharing our Big Day with the whole wide world… well, with maybe the two people who read this.

The hungry crowd

The hungry crowd

The buffet table

The buffet table

Bee Hoon

Bee Hoon

Must-have Kelupis

Must-have Kelupis

What's on offer

What's on offer

You’ll notice that there isn’t really too much difference between Hari Raya and Adau Gayo foodwise. But what I really love about the Dusun celebration is that when you hold an ‘Openhouse’, the whole village shows up early and stays till late. That may or may not be a good thing depending on the circumstances, but the family bond and community spirit are undeniably still very strong.

2 responses

Leave a Reply

