Seattle to Menglait and secawan kopi

Just before the fasting month, I picked up my best mate from the airport. He’d just come back from The Emerald City, Seattle, USA and he was telling me about his trip there – visiting the Boeing factory, drinking at the first Starbucks ever, “meeting” Bruce Lee and his son…Watttaaaa!!!! Fascinating stuff that needed to be washed down with a good Kopi O and Teh Tarek. So we decided to go to Jian Chu in Old Menglait, an outfit that’s probably as legendary as Starbucks, but with an even longer history.

We ordered the famous Jian Chu Kolo Mee with the Mata lembu.

xkolo

But the must-have here is the famous Roti Kuning – hot toasted yellow bun, with a dollop of Kaya and a thick slice of cold butter – an odd but beautiful marriage of hot and cold sensations on your taste buds.

xroti

xroti2

Mouth-watering stories of Seattle bagels, fresh seafood and other gastronomic delights accompanied our breakfast that morning. The closest I’ve ever been to Seattle myself was Vancouver some years ago, so we were comparing notes. And as I sipped my Kopi O, I quietly wondered how an unlikely Seattle, with an average temperature of 7-15C, managed to spawn probably the most successful coffee chain in the world ever. Coffee that could easily have come from my own backyard.

13 responses

  1. pasal maw and ches have turned to microblogging..tsk tsk..and of course i deserve a medal for always being around..haha..

    on a totally unrelated note- Jenny Cheshire (if u’r reading this,hi!) as in the sociolinguist? ooooooooOooooO

  2. insya allah 6th october. ooooh mari tah tani ramai2 go on a nation-wide restaurant-hopping adventure! food-centric roadtrip mcm Jamie in America.. [my stomach is clearly overriding my brain here– 7+ hrs to go before sungkai!]

  3. I don’t know If I said it already but …Great site…keep up the good work. 🙂 I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..Tony Brown

  4. i like how you managed to focus on taking the interesting bits out of an exhausting, jet-lagged-fueled trip and made it sound like a fun-filled foray into the west. Yee-haa! Thanks Zam.

    p.s. Still waiting for your legendary home-made pizza that your blog made so famous.

  5. Hi brother Rory~ thanks for your compliments 🙂 much appreciated! The beach house is falling apart, sadly 😦 and is not a welcoming sight atm. We can do alfresco tho. hmm i start work this week, and two weeks left before puasa. timing, timing.

Leave a Reply

