Tipping

Happy new year 2010 everyone!

Been on leave, on so many levels.

But New year’s eve and a recent incident at a restaurant just before that bring us to this year’s first post: tipping.

Let’s face it Brunei isn’t a tipping country, we just don’t tip. But having lived in UK for a fair bit of time, where tipping is not really compulsory but is sometimes expected, the habit lingers. A couple of weeks before the new year, we paid our bill for lunch and rushed off. Literally a week on, I was back at the restaurant and much to my surprise the waitress gave me $5, explaining they’d overcharged us the previous week. How honest! So I told her to keep the money as a tip, but she politely refused. On new year’s eve, I treated my anak buah to pizza and ordered a few. When the delivery guy came, we gave him the $4 change as a tip, but he would only take $2 after much insistence on my part.

On new year’s day I flew to Singapore and in the taxi there was a leaflet on tipping ettiquette which said tipping was not encouraged nor expected there.

And just hours ago, a friend asked me about tipping, hence this post.

Don’t know about you, but I do think sometimes tipping is just good manners. Ok I won’t tip in all restaurants, but when I’ve been impressed with the services rendered to me, I would. And in turn, I show displeasure by not doing so. And never if a service charge has been included in the bill.

In little cafes and restaurant I went to in the UK, I’d leave a spare change up to a pound for the waitress. I’d also tip hotel staff for little favours. I’d do the same in Australia, Canada, Thailand, Malaysia etc. In the States it is expected- in fact that’s how some sectors earn their living!

But why wouldn’t the Tutong pizza guy or the waitress take my tip? Were they offended by the gesture? I surely hope not.

But my general rule is 10% of the bill – more, if particularly good service is rendered.

Here’s a good

2 responses

  1. i think di US it’s expected kan? kalau inda tip mcm usulnya nda mikirkan yg gaji bisdurang atu sikit. That’s interesting what happened to you, I’ve experienced sumthing similar. In fact the only way around it was to say ‘ambil tia, sedakah ku ni’. works like a charm 🙂

  2. Hi nikki. yes it’s expected in the US. I did tell them to keep the money, tapi drg insist jua ku ambil balik. So i used it to pay for my minum that day, and gave it to my eagerly awaiting nephew.

Leave a Reply

