So what’s for breakfast?

This was a first for me~ fluffy roti kosong karing, with katam kari and kacang bendir.

The extras you see are what my brother had: ayam masak merah.

That should last me the day! But I’m not exactly a breakfast person, in fact I’m not a morning person at all.

So one day last week, a very rare occasion, I stumbled out of bed like a drunken baby hippo, all groggy but determined to face the day. Utterly unaccustomed to an early rise, the first light of day almost blinded me, but I was keen to get into the car to the kampung shop, and get the paper to read over breakfast.

Sunrise over Keriam

This colourful surprise greeted me as I entered the shop.

Apparently villagers make these foods and send them to the shop, which gets a 20% cut from each sale, while the makers keep the remainder.

I was impressed by two things: The variety of food you get to buy for only $1; and the entrepreneurial spirit of the orang kampung, and this simple system of partnership, tolong-menolong.

So when my grandma told me to bangun awal supaya “berajiki”, she wasn’t wasn’t kidding.
Maybe I should get up early more often.

4 responses

  1. I was impressed by two things: The variety of food you get to buy for only $1; and the entrepreneurial spirit of the orang kampung, and this simple system of partnership, tolong-menolong.

    —> masa my dad seretu baru bagas pencen he rediscovered a love of bekabun. kali ia tanam pokok pisang lah bnyk2. which turned out to bebuah at the same time. hahah then even after bagi2 arah org maseh jua bnyk labihnya and so we sold arah kadai kaling cemani. except that we got 50%. hehehehe

  2. fiz the katam was at hjh Asbah (lama) di bawah, sebaris Stanchart.

    Mau. mahal jua 50%, 50 sen jua ganya tu per sale. Too much tax.

    you couldve made banana cake, or kerepek pisang, or ur own banana syrup. rabus bananas, add sugar banyak2, remove floating ants, and add jintan manis. bagi colour if u like.

    campur air with susu, or not. nyaman.

    • believe me, we went bananas over banana based desserts!!! ada jadi keropok, ada jadi loaf, ada jadi cake, ada jadi mushy with sago, ada jadi cookies, ada jadi cucur. we practically ran out of ways to eat the bananas. don’t tell the bananas but we were pretty glad to be rid of them. LOL. now if we have excess fruit we sell arah the gerai di kupang atu. not sure org atu berapa bagian nya.

Leave a Reply

