My Last Supper…

… tapi eksenku. But this was officially my last Raya Open House serving for Raya 2010.

Got an invite to a modest Open House at Ded’s place to mark the close of Syawal on its final day last week.

I think I’ve been good this year, not much eating too much, but not that I’ve been going around too much either. Raya for me means 4 days of being stuck at home receiving a constant stream of guests, tapi inda kenal semua. So no attending invitations then, but subsequent invites, kalau ada, are fine.

This year’s cravings for me have been the Rendang Daging and Ayam Masak Merah (Chicken in red sauce).

And irony of it all? I only got my wishes fulfilled on the the last two days of Raya. I mean rendang is rendang lah, but there’s a particular ‘oomph’ that I always look for in a rendang, the right balance of spices and coconut creaminess and the melting daging. Not your run-of-the-mill rendang eh. So I got my rendang only on the Thursday, the second last day of Syawal. And I finally sunk my teeth into Ayam Masak Merah with that “oomph” on the Friday~ chicken pieces on the bone, cooked to a tooth-chipping hardness, and smothered in tangy and spicy tomatoey goodness. With a hint of aniseed lagi. That’s what you see in the pic above, as well as spicy sambal, and some very colourful Nasi Hujan (Raindrop Rice), which I’m not normally a fan of, but this being the final day of Raya, it’d simply be rude not to.

One response

  1. Pingback: Aloch Rye: and quot;The Last Supper and quot; – My entry for WorldNomads.com Travel … – yellowtrace blog » The Last Supper | Francine LeClercq.: – My Last Supper… « [ August 13th ] – and more « The Leonardo D

Leave a Reply

