Dimsum at last!

You’d think with a sizeable Chinese community here in Tutong I’d be reporting on the grand opening of the 30th dimsum restaurant- but no, it’s in fact the first dimsum I’ve ever had in Tutong, and it’s not even a restaurant. It’s actually a foodstall in the Huaho Foodcourt.

Me and the usual gang went there when it first opened some time before puasa, I think, and ordered a fair bit. The usual Siew Mai was there, Chicken feet, Yam basket, Seaweed and all sorts, actually.

But I only ordered Paus or Steamed bread with filling.

This is the standard Pau with Red Bean Paste filling. It’s the equivalent of the Times New Roman in Font-Dom, probably the most boring Pau ever, but I like it.

But I Iike this one more.

This is the Yam Pau, filled, of course, with Yam Paste. This one’s particularly good as it wasn’t too sweet. As an Ubi-holic, this was enough to reduce me to a palpitating maniac, macam baru pernah kejumpahan dimsum. I am easily enticed by colourful foods! *sigh*

I didn’t try any of the other Dimsum dishes that my friends had ordered, mainly because I didn’t feel like it, but also because we’d just had late breakfast at another bloody restaurant down the road. Yet we still ended up in the foodcourt. Must have been the ‘eat-yourself-silly’ belief we hold just before puasa, padahal boleh jua lakat makan tu lepas sungkai.

But anyway, glad to have a dimsum place in town, finally. This pau was quite light yet tasty, although at the back of my mind, I imagine it to have come out of a plastic packet of six, and simply shoved onto the bamboo steaming tray to mask it with a genuine home-made appearance. But I’ll choose to simply enjoy the moment.

ps/ pictures were taken with my new Nokia E72 5.1mp macro. Not half-bad eh?

Leave a Reply

