Vote Earth! The Earth Hour Chicken

Saturday, 28 March 2009, 8.30-9.30 pm.

What can one hour of darkness achieve, cynics ask.

A lot, I say.

At 8.28 pm it was really heartening to see my young babyfruits (nephews and nieces, aged 7 to 16) storm into the kitchen demanding all the lights to be switched off for the hour. Imagine that! Now, that kind of awareness in the young is just priceless.

Unfortunately, this was halfway through my culinary experiment – just as I was about to click on my phonecamera to take a shot of the results. On the occasion of the Earth Hour last weekend I ‘created’ a new dish, lemon grass butter chicken roast. Don’t get me wrong, I was all for the Earth Hour, I even had my bought-in-Manila Earth Hour T-shirt on! But I probably should have spent some pesos on ‘timing’ as well… here’s my chicken…

dsc00494

Oh well, it was the Earth Hour…

3 responses

Leave a comment